A Fl DUI conviction is a life changing event that will have long lasting consequences – some of which will be obvious and expected, others of which might totally blind side you. One of those lesser known consequences is the affect a FL DUI has on your automobile insurance. Upon a conviction for a FL DUI, the State of Florida requires you to have a minimum bodily injury liability coverage of $100,000/$300,000. This level of insurance covers injuries to others (not the driver) up to $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident. If you already have coverage at this level or higher, you may not experience any major changes. However, if you do not already have coverage at this level, you will be required to obtain an FR44 Certificate. This FR44 certificate basically goes on file with the State of Florida as proof that you are prepaid with $100,000/$300,000 coverage.
If you are required to obtain the FR44, there is a very good chance that your insurance provider will cancel you, or increase your rates, sometimes by as much as 300%! You must obtain and maintain the higher coverage for a minimum of 3 years. Many insurance carriers will not even write a policy for a person recently convicted of FL DUI and you may find that your choices in insurance carriers are extremely limited. Before settling on a FL DUI conviction, contact the lawyers of the Ferraro Law Group and put our experience to work for you!